I am not getting squash TA for web application test automation using selenium

Pankaj

Message par Pankaj »

I am new to squashTA and trying to setup the project.

I have created sample test script in SquashTA by following the tutorial "https://sites.google.com/a/henix.fr/wik ... d-selenium"

whats next now?

how to maintain object repository in Squash TA, manage Test data, test cases, test suites ?

Because without SquashTA also, I can develop my own hybrid framework (keyword+data driven) test automation framework using Selenium+ Java which can properly manage my test cases, Object repository, test data using Page Factory, testng framework etc.

I can only trigger java code from .ta file, but whats use of it if I can do it by normal way which I explained above?
qdusser

Message par qdusser »

Hello Pankaj,

The benefit of the .ta file is not only to trigger java code, but to create and execute independant testcases (or testsuites) by controling your tests data and runing as many action scripts you like.

By using Database plugins you will be able to clean a taregeted database and to populate it conforming to the purpose of the test... before and after the test.
(here are some macro-commands : https://sites.google.com/a/henix.fr/wik ... uts-macros)

.ta files system could also allow you to execute the same script with different datasets. As you're using selenium I would advise you to check out the "Selenium plugin" section in the wiki.

An other benefit of squash TA is the HTML test report generated after running your test, that you will find in target/squashTA/html-reports and that you can open with a Web Browser.

If you're using squash TM as an test repository management, you will appreciate the link between the two technologies (Everithing about it is here : https://sites.google.com/a/henix.fr/wik ... --ta-guide).

Squash TA framework offers you a large pannel of testing options for simplified and more maintainable testcases.

Best regards.
Pankaj